When setting up a new task in the iPhone app, the default assignee should always be yourself.
There is a bug whereby sometimes it is not set to anybody and the means the task you think you assigned to yourself gets lost.
The issue is sporadic, it does not happen on the first time you set up a task, it seems to happen on subsequent tasks.